Local Government Election 2022 Results

The count for the election will take place at West Lothian College on Friday 6 May 2022. The results will be made available using the link above.

Leave and Public Holidays

Information on holidays and forms required to apply for leave

Annual Leave

The council's annual leave year runs from 1 January - 31 December.

All employees are entitled to 180 hours (25 days) annual leave, rising to 216 (30 days) on completion of 5 years' service (on 1 January).  Annual leave for part time employees and those who work non-standard working patterns must be calculated and taken in hours.  Examples of non-standard working patterns would include

  • part time working
  • compressed working week
  • shift working

Employees working on a sessional or term time contract will receive a pro-rata payment for annual leave and public holidays within their monthly salary.

Use the Icon for excel annual leave calculator [13.47KB] to calculate employees annual leave.

Guidance

Icon for pdf Guidance on how annual leave is calculated and how to use the annual leave calculator [176.82KB]

Icon for pdf Guidance on application of the additional leave day for the Queen's Platinum Jubilee [108.17KB]

Icon for pdf Guidance on the application of the Recognition Day [71.26KB]

Public Holidays

The upcoming public holiday dates for the council are as follows

2021

  • Friday 1 January
  • Monday 4 January
  • Friday 2 April
  • Monday 5 April
  • Monday 3 May
  • Monday 27 December
  • Tuesday 28 December

2022

  • Monday 3 January
  • Tuesday 4 January
  • Friday 15 April
  • Monday 18 April
  • Monday 2 May
  • Monday 26 December
  • Tuesday 27 December

Guidance on the arrangements in place when Icon for pdf public holiday fall on a Saturday or Sunday can be found here [300.92KB]

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon email icon

Print

print icon