Toggle menu

Listed buildings

Listed buildings are buildings of special architectural or historic interest and are subject to special controls.

The decision on whether to list buildings is taken by Historic Environment Scotland but it is the council that decides whether or not any proposal to alter or extend a listed building will require listed building consent.  This decision is made on whether the proposed works, either to the exterior or the interior of the building, are likely to affect its character.

Some proposals which require listed building consent may also require planning permission. Applications for listed building consent and planning permission should be submitted at the same time.

There are three categories of listed buildings:

Category A

Buildings of national or international importance, either architectural or historic, or fine little-altered examples of some particular period, style or building type.

Category B

Buildings of regional or more than local importance, or major examples of some particular period, style or building type which may have been altered.

Category C

Buildings of local importance, lesser examples of any period, style, or building type, as originally constructed or moderately altered; and simple traditional buildings which group well with others in categories A and B.

Historic Environment Scotland maintains a register of listed buildings (opens new window), and a scheduled monuments list (opens new window). For information on scheduled monuments, including how to apply for consent to make alterations to a scheduled monument, you should contact Historic Environment Scotland, which is the body which deals with applications for scheduled monument consent.  

Are any listed buildings exempt from listed building consent?

Places of worship which are listed do not ordinarily require listed building consent for alteration, with the exception of proposals for demolition which require listed building consent.



This page was last updated: 28 February 2024